Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.
12-17-12 Emergency Meeting
Town of Newtown Legislative Council
Monday, December 17, 2012
3 Primrose Street, Newtown, CT

PRESENT:  Jeff Capeci, Mary Ann Jacob, George Ferguson, Joseph Girgasky, Daniel Honan, Kathy Fetchick, Dan Amaral, Neil Chaudhary, Dan Wiedemann, Paul Lundquist, Phil Carroll, Bob Merola

ALSO PRESENT:  Board of Selectmen, Board of Education, Board of Finance members, four members of public, press

Chairman Capeci has called an Emergency Meeting of the Legislative Council, as permitted by Sec. 7-40(b) of the Town Charter, whereby that decision that an emergency exists is subject to ratification by at least 8 affirmative votes.  The nature of the emergency is the immediate securing of Chalk Hill School in Monroe for Sandy Hook Elementary School students after the December 14, 2012 tragedy.   Council members unanimously agreed that this is an emergency situation.

Ms. Jacob moved the following resolution:  Resolved that the agreement dated December 17, 2012 among the Town of Newtown, the Newtown Board of Education, and the Town of Monroe for the use and occupancy of the Chalk Hill School is hereby adopted and approved.  Motion seconded and unanimously carried.

Having no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:40 p.m.

Jan Andras
Recording Secretary

These are draft minutes and as such are subject to correction by the Legislative Council at the next regular meeting. All corrections will be determined in minutes of the meeting at which they were corrected.